On July 29, 1916, a petition was brought forward to form the Waukee Consolidated School District. The petition successfully merged Walnut Center, Pleasant View, Floral Valley, and Waukee Independent School Districts, which were all located in Walnut Township. In addition to these school districts, portions of Boone and Van Meter Townships were included in the merger.

Waukee Consolidated School District became Waukee Community School District (WCSD) and remained a small, rural school district well into the 80’s. As the Des Moines metropolitan area began to grow west in the 90’s, WCSD began experiencing rapid growth. Since 2000 the district’s student enrollment has increased by 450 students each year, making WCSD the fastest growing school district in Iowa.

Our schools serve students from Clive, Urbandale, Waukee and West Des Moines as well as open enrollment students from other communities outside the 55 square miles of our district boundaries. There are currently 13 school buildings operating in WCSD including eight elementary schools: Brookview, Eason, Maple Grove, Shuler, Walnut Hills, Waukee Elementary, Woodland Hills and Grant Ragan; two grade 6/7 middle schools: Waukee Middle School and South Middle School; two grade 8/9 buildings: Prairieview and Timberline; and one high school: Waukee High School.

WCSD Boundary Map


History of Waukee Community School District Superintendents:

Superintendents provide leadership in developing and maintaining the best possible educational programs and services. They set the direction and tone for a district while responding to the needs of students, parents, teachers, administrations and elected board members. WCSD has a culture of building leaders who are focused on optimizing the individual learning and potential for success in a global community for all students.

  • H. P. Simpson – 1916
  • 4 “unknown” – 1917-1920
  • George W. Guthrie – 1920-1923
  • W. S. Smiley – 1923-1927
  • Chester J. Hartman – 1927- 1943
  • S. J. Wassom – 1943-1945
  • Roger K. Langer – 1945-1952
  • William N. Morris – 1952-1957
  • Kenneth E. Bryant – 1957-1964
  • Vince Meyer – Feb. 1964-June 1964
  • Clair Eason – 1964-1994
  • Veronica Stalker – 1994-2004
  • Dr. David J. Wilkerson – 2004-2017
  • Cindi McDonald – 2017+